COPPUL Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement

About the Agreement

UFV is a member of COPPUL (Council of Prairie and Pacific University Libraries). COPPUL libraries give borrowing privileges to students, faculty and staff at other partner institutions. These privileges will vary, but will be similiar to community borrower privileges at UFV.

COPPUL card holders can obtain borrowing privileges at university libraries belonging to three other Canadian consortia, as part of the Canadian University Reciprocal Borrowing Agreement (CURBA). In effect this means that UFV students, faculty and staff will have access to university libraries across the country. See "Where to use your COPPUL card" for more information.

You must have a COPPUL card issued by your own institution (UFV) in order to borrow from other libraries. Cards are available to current UFV students whose library accounts are in good standing, as well as current and retired employees.

  • Present your UFV student or employee ID card at the library's service desk. Cards can be issued 30 minutes after opening until 30 minutes prior to closing.
  • Eligible distance students requiring a COPPUL card should request one using our online form; be sure to put "COPPUL card" in the Additional Information box.
  • Cards will expire at the end of August each year.
Show Your ID
  • You will be asked to present the COPPUL card you obtained from UFV, as well as photo ID. You may also be asked to show your UFV library card.
  • You will be issued a library card for that institution. There may be limits on what you can borrow as well as access to electronic resources.
  • Loan periods and fines will be as per the regulations of the lending institution.
Item Returns

Returning items borrowed from another library to the lending library is the responsibility of the student or employee. They will not be handled by the UFV Library.

You can use your COPPUL card at the following COPPUL libraries:

British Columbia

Capilano University
Kwantlen Polytechnic University
Royal Roads University
Simon Fraser University
Thompson Rivers University
Trinity Western University
University of British Columbia
University of Northern British Columbia
University of Victoria
Vancouver Island University


Athabasa University
Concordia University
King's University College
MacEwan University
Mount Royal University
University of Alberta
University of Calgary
University of Lethbridge


University of Regina
University of Saskatchewan


Brandon University
University of Manitoba
University of Winnipeg

You can also use your COPPUL card at member institutions of the following Canadian post-secondary consortia:

Chat loading...

Visit Us

Call Us

Chat with Us

Email Us

Browse Our Site